From the time a child is born, parents are completely invested in their growth journey, and will do their best to make sure their child receives the best education possible.

However, high tuition fees and inflation are some of the obstacles that might stand in the way of the best-laid education plans.
A survey, The Value of Education: High Aspirations*, conducted by HSBC in 2017, found that 27% of parents interviewed regretted not saving for their childrens' education funds sooner, while 26% felt that they should have saved even more. Meanwhile, 54% of parents interviewed would consider sending their children abroad for higher education, but 19% of parents did not know how much this would cost.

From preschool to high school, parents might have to spend up to a million dollars on a child’s education. So it's important to identify your child's education needs as early as possible, set a savings goal, and pick the right wealth management plan according to your financial situation. This will help you devise a suitable family budget, and aid in fulfulling your child's potential.

Consider these 5 questions, which will help you to set an education savings plan:

  • What education plan have you drawn up for your child?
    University or vocational education? Graduate school?
  • How much are you willing to commit?
    Will you be paying for your child’s living expenses and tuition fees?
  • Where do you want your child to study?
    Local studies or education abroad? If overseas, which country?
  • When do you need the money?
    How much time do you have before your child needs this education fund?
  • What education savings plan have you prepared?
    Lump-sum investment or a regular deposit plan? Single asset or a diversified investment portfolio?

* The Value of Education is a research report mandated by HSBC, and is an independently written consumer survey on global education trends. It explores parental attitudes and behaviour toward childrens' education globally. The opinions expressed are highly authoritative. Higher and higher is the fourth report in the research series, and reflects the opinions of 8,481 parents across 15 countries and regions around the world.

Contact us

Want to start growing your wealth but not sure where to start? Leave your contact information and we will call you back within 2 working days.

General enquiry on personal financial related service

400-820-3090

Please dial the prefix +86 if you are calling from overseas

The contents of this article, whether in whole or in part, may not be reproduced or further distributed to any person or entity for any purpose, and must not be distributed to any other jurisdiction where its distribution is unlawful.

The views expressed and the information contained in this article are for general reference only, and are not intended to offer any professional opinion (including but not limited to financial, tax, legal or accounting advice) or investment advice. In addition, the information contained herein has not taken into consideration your investment experience, objective, financial sources and relevant circumstances. You should not regard this article as the bank offering opinions/advice in these areas, or rely on it as the basis of any investment or other decisions. This article does not constitute any advertisement, promotion, recommendation, offer, solicitation of offer or advice for any product or service offered by the bank. The bank is not recommending or soliciting any action based on it.

The bank and HSBC Group make no guarantee, representation or warranty and accepts no responsibility for the accuracy, timeliness or completeness of the views and information contained in this article including any third party information. Third party information is for your reference only, and shall not be deemed as the bank’s recommendation or endorsement of any views, data or other information contained therein. The views expressed in this article are subject to change without notice.

父母关切孩子成长的每一步,从期盼他们出生到养育他们长大,倾注了无数心血。其中,爸妈对孩子的升学教育尤为上心,总是尽其所能让他们得到最适当的教育。

当父母在心中描画教育蓝图的时候,现实生活中的学费高企、经济通胀等却往往超出原本的设想。

汇丰于2017年发布的《教育的价值:志存高远》*调查报告发现,有27%的受访父母后悔没有更早开始储备子女的教育费,26%认为当初应该为此储蓄更多。另外,54%的受访父母会考虑送子女到海外升读大学,但19%的父母不知道海外教育的费用是多少。

孩子从学前教育到高校毕业,教育开支动辄几十万甚至上百万。因此,及早明确子女的教育需求,订立储备目标,并结合自己的财务状况选择合适的理财方案,有利于合理安排家庭财政预算,并且帮助孩子尽量发挥潜能。

不妨思考下这5个问题,可以帮您做教育储备规划时理清思路:

  • 您为孩子制定了何种教育规划
    大学或职业教育?研究生教育?
  • 您愿意投入多少
    您是否会负担你孩子的生活费及学费?
  • 您希望孩子在何处学习
    国内或国外?如果出国,要去哪个国家?
  • 您何时需要这笔资金
    再过多长时间,您的孩子需要动用这笔教育储备?
  • 您为孩子准备了何种教育储备规划
    一次性投入或是定期存款计划?单一资产或是多元投资组合?

*《教育的价值》报告是一份由汇丰授权进行的研究,就环球教育趋势撰写独立的消费者调查报告,其内容探讨全球父母对子女教育的态度与行为,所发表的意见深具权威性。《志存高远》是研究系列中的第四份报告,反映全球15个国家及地区多达8,481名父母的意见。

联系我们

如果您想了解更多信息,或获取个性化建议,请留下联络方式,我们将在2个工作日内给您回电

您也可以拨打热线进行个人业务咨询

400-820-3090

若您在海外或港澳台地区,请在号码前加拨中国国际电话区号+86

本文内容,不论全部或部分,均不得被复制或进一步分发予任何人士或实体作任何用途,也不得分发予任何其他分发本文件属非法行为的司法管辖区。

本文所载观点和信息仅供一般参考,并不旨在提供任何专业意见(包括但不限于财务、税务、法律或会计等方面的意见)或投资建议。本文所含信息亦未考虑您的投资经验、目标、财务来源及有关情况。您不得将本文视为本行在这些方面提供任何意见/建议,或加以依赖作为任何投资或其他决定的依据。本文亦不构成对本行提供的任何产品和服务的广告、营销、推荐、要约、要约邀请或建议。本行并没有建议或招揽任何基于本文的行动。

本行与汇丰集团不对本文所载观点和信息包括任何源自第三方的信息的准确性、及时性或完整性作出任何担保、陈述或保证,也不对此承担任何责任。该等源自第三方的信息仅供您参考,不代表本行推荐或认可其中的观点、数据或其他信息。本文表达的观点可能会发生改变,但不会另行通知您。