Top of main content

Build emergency savings

Mother and son blowing bubbles in the park; the image used for build emergency savings

You may be able to meet your needs and expenses each month, but how would you cope with an emergency or unexpected cost?

What if your car breaks down, you lose your job, or face an unexpected bill?

Putting money aside for emergency or unexpected costs isn't easy, and it's a challenge for people in many countries in the world. If you are one of them then an emergency or unexpected cost can tip you into financial hardship.

Being prepared for the unexpected, rather than dealing with it only when it arises, is key to your financial wellbeing. Estimates vary throughout the world, but experts recommend building up enough savings to cover at least 3 months of essential outgoings, in case of emergency.

According to World Bank figures, China had a savings rate of 47% in 2017 – calculated as a percentage of gross domestic product (GDP) - and is ranked third among the 170 countries monitored.

Here are 5 tips for building an emergency savings fund:

  1. Set savings goals. Setting goals helps you to track your progress and measure your success. Plan to build up enough savings to cover at least three months of essential outgoings, in case of emergency. Anything else that you want to save for (like a holiday) should be on top of this.

  2. Another thing to consider is to discuss your savings goals with your loved ones. Explain what they are for and why they are important. Sharing a savings goal with those around you can help you to stay on track.

  3. Keep your emergency funds separate from the money you use for everyday spending, or to pay your bills. Research shows that doing this may stop you spending it1, Role of mental accounting[@Role of mental accounting]. Setting up a separate savings account can usually be done quickly online.

  4. Try to save regularly and automatically. Rather than try to save what you have left at the end of the month, set up an automated transfer from your regular bank account to a savings account on the day you are paid.

  5. If you can't save a lot, it can be hard to get motivated to save at all. But saving any amount (however small) is helpful, and can build up a valuable emergency savings fund over time.

HSBC China offers you a wide range of products and services for savings accounts and time deposits, empowering you to accumulate and manage your wealth with ease for all your future plans.

Learn more about deposit products and offers

Financial wellbeing

A girl looking at phone in bus stop; the image used for manage existing debt

Smart ways to reduce what you owe

Middle-aged couple sitting on sofa looking at tablet; the image used for save for the future

Start planning for the later stages of life.

A happy family of three; the image used for protect what matters

Protect the things that matter the most to you.

页面顶部

建立应急储蓄

在公园吹泡泡的母子;图片用于建立应急储备

您或许每个月都能满足自己的需求和消费目标,但是您该如何应对紧急情况或者意外开支呢?

万一您的车坏了,您失业了,或者面临着意外的账单要付怎么办?

留一些钱应急或支付意外开支并不容易,而且这对于世界上许多国家的人来说都是一个挑战。如果您也是他们其中一员,那么一次紧急情况或意外开支就可能会让您陷入财务困境。

未雨绸缪,而不是临时抱佛脚,是保持财务健康的关键所在。对于究竟需要准备多少钱,全世界标准不一,但专家们建议,您至少应留出3个月基本生活开支的钱,以防意外。

根据世界银行的统计数据,2017年中国储蓄率为47%(总储蓄占国内生产总值的比重),在所统计的170个国家中排名第三。

以下是5个建立应急储蓄基金的技巧:

  1. 设立储蓄目标。设置目标能帮您追踪自己的进步和衡量自己是否成功。计划的储蓄至少应负担3个月的基本生活开支,以防意外。而任何其它储蓄目标(比如为度假而存钱),都必须建立在这个目标基础之上。
  2. 另一个需要考虑的问题是与您的亲人讨论自己的储蓄目标。并给他们解释您进行储蓄的原因,以及该储蓄的重要性。同身边的人分享储蓄目标能帮助您始终走在正确的轨道上。
  3. 请将应急的资金和用于日常开支的资金分开,或者避免用来支付账单,这样可以控制你乱花钱的欲望。通常,您可以在网上快速地设置一个单独的储蓄账户。
  4. 试着定期和自动储蓄。而不是在月底才试着将剩余的钱存下来。请设置一笔金额,并在发薪日从您的日常银行账户自动转账到储蓄账户。
  5. 如果您不能存下很多钱,那么您就很难有存钱的动力。但是,存下任意金额,无论多小,都是有益的,而且随着时间的推移,您就能建立起非常宝贵的应急储蓄资金。

了解下一步

更多健康的财务习惯

在车站看手机的女孩;图片用于管理现有债务
为您减少负债支招
坐在沙发上看平板的中年夫妇;图片用于为未来存钱
现在就开始为退休做打算吧
开心的一家三口;图片用于保护重要财产
为您最重要的东西投保