Top of main content

Fear in the Markets: The Smart Investor’s Response

Financial markets are delicately balanced

 

Which way will they tip?

Imagine our current volatility as a weighing scale. On one side are investors, fearful for the global economy and wondering how much worse the virus will get.

On the other side, we have the measures taken by authorities around the world. These include control and limitation measures to limit viral spread, monetary stimulus to lower the cost of corporate debt and fiscal stimulus to support vulnerable consumers through this challenging period. The authorities have not held back so far, with the US Federal Reserve cutting interest rates to zero and the European Central Bank increasing quantitative easing. Attention is now focussed on how much fiscal stimulus governments will inject.

Investors eagerly process each new bit of information. When the implications of a new development are unclear (as in the case of coronavirus), they may well feel that the only safe option is to sell now and figure it all out later. We should therefore expect markets to be choppy and volatile in the short term, as further news breaks about the virus and its economic and financial implications.

Four themes to guide investors over the coming months

One of the worst things an investor can do right now is sell all, or even a substantial chunk, of their equities – especially if they’ve already suffered significant losses.

In volatile times, market movements tend to be larger than normal – up as well as down. So, if you’ve cashed out, you risk missing out on large gains upwards. In fact, missing even one day of major gains can be damaging. According to data from 2004 to 20142, portfolios that missed out on the top 20 performing days during this period would have been significantly harmed.

Whereas “timing the market” is notoriously difficult, the right strategy is, in fact, to focus on “time in the market”.

2The period 2004 to 2014 was selected because it includes the Global Financial Crisis and European Debt Crisis, along with other volatile periods.

We expect the economic outlook to remain uncertain, with see-sawing markets and persistent volatility, and have therefore made several short-term changes to our investment views (covering the next 3 months).

We are downgrading global equities from Overweight to Neutral, on the expectation that corporate earnings will deteriorate significantly in the short-term, particularly in developed markets. We still think equities are an attractive investment over the long term but caution is warranted for now. We stress this is a modest reduction and NOT a call to sell everything.

We are upgrading investment grade corporate bonds from Underweight to Neutral. With yields on government bonds now even lower, the excess yield available on investment grade corporate bonds looks more attractive. Corporate bonds are also more reasonably priced, and reflect some of the risks of a global recession, as well as deterioration in corporate earnings.

Although we’re maintaining our Underweight position on core government bonds, we acknowledge that they still have a place in a diversified portfolio. While these assets have performed well during volatile times, with their yields at an unprecedented low we do have concerns about their ability to rally much further (and offer the same diversification benefits). Nonetheless, they should continue to hold up well in the current volatility.

It’s vital that you take steps now to optimise your portfolio, while ensuring the right level of exposure for your risk tolerance. That means including high quality bonds, even though valuations on core government bonds are particularly expensive right now. These allocations should be looked on as a form of portfolio insurance, particularly for the short-term.

Since traditional safe-haven assets like core government bonds are so expensive, there’s nowhere cheap or easy to hide. We’ve already mentioned investment grade corporate bonds as an alternative, but it must be stressed that since these bonds are issued by companies and not governments, they do have a higher correlation with the stock market.

Because of this, investors should consider additional ways of diversifying. Alternative investment strategies, which aim to deliver absolute returns uncorrelated to market conditions, should be considered if available.

Gold is another asset that traditionally performs well during volatility, although prices are currently very high, making it hard to be bullish. But gold is still a useful store of value in times like these and we expect prices to be supported by even lower interest rates and continued short-term volatility.

If neither of these approaches is readily available, a more traditional multi-asset portfolio approach, where investment decisions are made by full-time professionals against your risk target or budget, would be a smart option amid the current uncertainty.

With uncertainty comes opportunity. This matters to long-term investors because cheaper entry points to global equity markets now exist. This means that long-term prospective returns on equities are now higher than they were before, making them more attractive for investors with a longer-term time horizon. Remember that it’s extremely difficult to time the market and call the absolute bottom so it’s worth considering the opportunities.

Within equities, we think that Emerging Market (EM) equities, particularly in Asia are especially attractive from a long-term perspective. Emerging Markets have more scope for policy action than, say, the Eurozone and Japan, and indeed we’ve already seen authorities in China and other Asian markets take aggressive fiscal and monetary action to support the economy. Lower energy prices should also help EM markets that are “nonpetro” economies.

Because Asia was forced to confront the coronavirus a few months before the rest of the world, the continent is arguably closer to returning to some semblance of normal life. This can only be positive Asian economies and, correspondingly, for EM and Asian investments.

WARNING: THE CONTENTS OF THIS DOCUMENT HAVE NOT BEEN REVIEWED BY ANY REGULATORY AUTHORITY IN THE PEOPLE’S REPUBLIC OF CHINA OR ANY OTHER JURISDICTION. YOU ARE ADVISED TO EXERCISE CAUTION IN RELATION TO THE INVESTMENT AND THIS DOCUMENT. IF YOU ARE IN DOUBT ABOUT ANY OF THE CONTENTS OF THIS DOCUMENT, YOU SHOULD OBTAIN INDEPENDENT PROFESSIONAL ADVICE.

This document has been issued by HSBC Bank (China) Company Limited (the “Bank”) in the conduct of its regulated business in China. It is not intended for anyone other than the recipient. The contents of this document may not be reproduced or further distributed to any person or entity, whether in whole or in part, for any purpose. This document must not be distributed to the United States, Canada or Australia or to any other jurisdiction where its distribution is unlawful. All non-authorised reproduction or use of this document will be the responsibility of the user and may lead to legal proceedings.

This document has no contractual value and is not and should not be construed as an offer or the solicitation of an offer or a recommendation for the purchase or sale of any investment [in any jurisdiction in which such an offer is not lawful] or subscribe for, or to participate in, any services. The Bank is not recommending or soliciting any action based on it.

The information stated and/or opinion(s) expressed in this document are provided by HSBC Bank (China) Company Limited. We do not undertake any obligation to issue any further publications to you or update the contents of this document and such contents are subject to changes at any time without notice. They are expressed solely as general market information and/or commentary for general information purposes only and do not constitute investment advice or recommendation to buy or sell investments or guarantee of returns. The Bank has not been involved in the preparation of such information and opinion. The Bank makes no guarantee, representation or warranty and accepts no responsibility for the accuracy and/or completeness of the information and/or opinions contained in this document, including any third party information obtained from sources it believes to be reliable but which has not been independently verified. In no event will the Bank or HSBC Group be liable for any damages, losses or liabilities including without limitation, direct or indirect, special, incidental, consequential damages, losses or liabilities, in connection with your use of this document or your reliance on or use or inability to use the information contained in this document.

The Bank and HSBC Group and/or their officers, directors and employees may have positions in any securities or financial instruments mentioned in this document (or in any related investments) (if any) and may from time to time add to or dispose of any such securities or financial instruments or investments. The Bank and its affiliates may act as market maker or have assumed an underwriting commitment in the securities or financial instruments discussed in this document (or in related investments) (if any), may sell them to or buy them from customers on a principal basis and may also perform or seek to perform investment banking or underwriting services for or relating to those companies.

The information contained within this document has not been reviewed in the light of your personal circumstances. Please note that this information is neither intended to aid in decision making for legal, financial or other consulting questions, nor should it be the basis of any investment or other decisions. You should carefully consider whether any investment views and investment products are appropriate in view of your investment experience, objectives, financial resources and relevant circumstances. The investment decision is yours but you should not invest in any product unless the intermediary who sells it to you has explained to you that the product is suitable for you having regard to your financial situation, investment experience and investment objectives. The relevant product offering documents should be read for further details.

Some of the statements contained in this document may be considered forward-looking statements which provide current expectations or forecasts of future events. Such forward looking statements are not guarantees of future performance or events and involve risks and uncertainties. Such statements do not represent any one investment and are used for illustration purpose only. Customers are reminded that there can be no assurance that economic conditions described herein will remain in the future. Actual results may differ materially from those described in such forward-looking statements as a result of various factors. We can give no assurance that those expectations reflected in those forward-looking statements will prove to have been correct or come to fruition, and you are cautioned not to place undue reliance on such statements. We do not undertake any obligation to update the forward-looking statements contained herein, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise, or to update the reasons why actual results could differ from those projected in the forward-looking statements.

Investment involves risk. It is important to note that the capital value of investments and the income from them may go down as well as up and may become valueless and investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Past performance contained in this document is not a reliable indicator of future performance whilst any forecasts, projections and simulations contained herein should not be relied upon as an indication of future results. Past performance information may be out of date. For up-to-date information, please contact your Relationship Manager.

Investment in any market may be extremely volatile and subject to sudden fluctuations of varying magnitude due to a wide range of direct and indirect influences. Such characteristics can lead to considerable losses being incurred by those exposed to such markets. If an investment is withdrawn or terminated early, it may not return the full amount invested. In addition to the normal risks associated with investing, international investments may involve risk of capital loss from unfavourable fluctuations in currency values, from differences in generally accepted accounting principles or from economic or political instability in certain jurisdictions. Narrowly focused investments and smaller companies typically exhibit higher volatility. There is no guarantee of positive trading performance. Investments in emerging markets are by their nature higher risk and potentially more volatile than those inherent in some established markets. Economies in emerging markets generally are heavily dependent upon international trade and, accordingly, have been and may continue to be affected adversely by trade barriers, exchange controls, managed adjustments in relative currency values and other protectionist measures imposed or negotiated by the countries with which they trade. These economies also have been and may continue to be affected adversely by economic conditions in the countries in which they trade. Investment schemes are subject to market risks. You should read all scheme related documents carefully.

Copyright © HSBC Bank (China) Company Limited 2020. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, on any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without the prior written permission of HSBC Bank (China) Company Limited

Exp. 30.09.2020

Related articles

页面顶部

市场深陷恐惧泥沼: 明智投资者的应对策略

不论形式和规模如何,恐惧已经席卷当下的各类投资者。尽管 2020 年初全球股市开局走势强劲,但截至目前全球股票市场市值已下挫约 15%。美国股市能否持续走牛?这个问题现在已有一个响亮的回答:不能。虽然大多数人都不会预测到,引发股票抛售狂潮的会是是一场席卷全球的流行病,但事实摆在眼前:美国股市现已正式步入熊市,市值相比 2 月份的最高峰下挫了 20% 以上。

人们纷纷抛售股票,全球大多数股票市场都在经历巨大动荡。在这轮抛售狂潮中,连所谓的偏“防御性”的企业门类(如医疗保健或公用事业)也未能幸免于难。事后看来,这也不足为奇,因为在爆发严重危机期间,短期内抛售股票的现象可谓屡见不鲜。与此相对应的是,所有被认为相对安全的国债需求高企,债券收益率相比以前被压得更低——这就是人尽皆知的“涌向安全资产”。

站在天平上的金融市场:它将向哪边倾斜?

 

在审视这次的市场震荡时,也许最好的办法是把它看成是一个天平。在天平的一端,投资者们对世界形势感到恐惧,他们迫切地想要知道 - 病毒传播形势会变得有多糟糕?会给经济和企业带来哪些影响?

在天平的另一端,是世界各国政府正在采取的措施:控制和限制措施以遏制病毒的传播;货币刺激政策以降低企业的偿债成本;财政刺激政策以在这一困难时期支持较脆弱的消费群体。各国政府正竭尽全力推出政策,如美联储将利率下调至零,及欧洲央行上调的量化宽松政策。如今,人们的注意力都集中在政府将注入多少财政刺激。

每一项新信息都是投资者亟待需要消化的。当事态发展的影响不明确时,就像新冠病毒的情况一样,投资者可能会认为,保险点的做法是抛售资产,以后再看情况入市。因此,随着关于病毒传播及其对经济和财务的影响的新闻不断爆出,市场在短期内的表现应该是充满动荡与起伏。

未来几个月指导投资者的 4 个主题

投资者目前最失策的举动之一是出售大量甚至全部权益资产,尤其是在他们已经遭受重大损失的情况下。

动荡时期,市场规模上下波动的幅度远比平常要大。这意味着,如果退出市场,投资者可能会错失大笔收益。事实上,错失具有大笔收益的市场表现日,可能会给投资者的投资组合带来巨大损害。数据表明,如果错过 2004 年到 2014 年1这 10 年间的 20 个最佳表现日,可能会给投资组合带来严重损害。

人们很难正确把握市场时机。在实际看来,正确的策略应该是关注资金入市的时间长度,而不是择时入市。

 

1选择 2004-2014 年期间是因为这十年间发生了全球金融危机、欧洲债务危机以及一些其他动荡时期

我们认为经济前景将持续不明朗,并预计波动将持续,市场将继续呈现拉锯局面。有鉴于此,我们对未来 3 个月的投资观点作出了若干短期调整。

短期而言,我们将全球股票评级从“增持”下调为“中性”,因为我们预计短期内投资收益会显著恶化,尤其是在发达国家,这些国家是环球股票市场的重要组成部分。我们强调,这种温和的降级并不意味着投资者应出售其所有权益资产。这反映了市场短期内风险的增加,投资者应考虑适度调整投资组合以反映这一点。

我们将投资级企业债券评级从“减持”上调为“中性”。现阶段,相较核心政府债券,投资级企业债券所具备的超额收益率更具吸引力,因为政府债券的收益率现在甚至更低,更没有吸引力。企业债券价格更合理,反映了全球经济衰退和公司收益恶化的一些风险。

虽然我们的核心政府债券评级仍维持“减持”,但我们承认这类资产在多元化的投资组合中仍然占据着一定的地位。尽管核心政府债券在市场波动情况下表现良好,但我们不确定这些债券能否继续进一步反弹,并提供同等的多样化收益,因为它们的收益现在甚至比以前更低。尽管如此,在动荡时期,它们应该能够继续向好。

如果投资者最近还没有采取行动,现在就应该优化他们的投资组合,并确保他们的风险敞口符合自身的风险承受能力。即使对核心政府债券的估值现在更高,政府和企业发行的优质债券也应包括在投资组合内。这些拨款可以看做是给投资组合上保险,短期而言更是如此。

由于目前核心政府债券等传统的避风港资产估值较高,因此没有又轻松又低价的避险选择。我们已经给出了投资级企业债券作为替代方案的例子。但是,必须强调的是,这类债券仍然是由企业发行的,而不是政府发行的,这意味着相较于政府核心债券,它们与股票市场的关联性更高。

因此,投资者还应考虑还有什么方法能使投资组合多样化。另类投资战略旨在实现与市场无关的绝对回报,无论市场条件如何,都是一个实用的风险分散帮手。

黄金是过去在波动性激增时表现良好的另一种资产类型。但是,现在黄金价格很高,按目前的价位来看,很难再走牛。尽管如此,黄金在充满挑战的时期是一个实用的价值存储工具,我们预计即使利率再降低且短期内市场波动持续,金价仍能够维持一定水平。

如果投资者不能轻易获得这些投资,在短期行情不确定的情况下,由全职专业人员根据风险目标或预算作出投资决定的更传统的多资产投资组合将是一个明智的选择。

不确定性带来机遇。投资者现在有机会以更便宜的价格投资于股票市场。我们认为,随着病毒及其影响的发展,经济疲软将持续一整年。同时我们也相信,危机带来的经济疲软和不确定性不是长期性的。对长期投资者来说,这一点很重要,因为现在正是低价入场的好机会,尽管在短期内,市场情况仍可能是波涛汹涌。请记住,择时入场和抄底难度非常之大。

目前,我们认为新兴市场特别是亚洲市场权益资产,比发达市场权益资产更具吸引力。例如,新兴市场的政策可执行范围比欧元区和日本更大。事实上,我们已经看到中国当局和其他一些亚洲市场采取积极的财政和货币举措来支持经济发展。较低的能源价格对非石油经济体新兴市场而言也是一股助力。

相比世界其他地区,亚洲在几个月前就面对了冠状病毒的爆发,而且可以说,这些地区相对而言可以更快地恢复生产生活秩序。这对他们的经济只会带来利好,对新兴市场和亚洲的投资也会有积极影响。

致客户重要信息

警告:本文件的内容未经中国 或任何其他司法管辖区的监管机构审阅。建议您就相关投资及本文件内容审慎行事。如您对本文件的内容有任何疑问,应向独立人士寻求专业意见。

本文件由汇丰银行(中国)有限公司(“本行”)在 中国 经营受管制业务期间发布,并仅供收件人使用。本文件内容,不论全部或部分,均不得被复制或进一步分发予任何人士或实体作任何用途。本文件不得分发予美国、加拿大或澳洲,或任何其他分发本文件属非法行为的司法管辖区。所有未经授权复制或使用本文件的行为均属使用者的责任,并可能引致法律诉讼。

本文件没有合约价值,并不是且不应被诠释为进行任何投资买卖,或认购或参与任何服务的要约、要约邀请或建议。本行并没有建议或招揽任何基于本文件的行动。

本文件内列明的信息及/或表达的意见由汇丰银行(中国)有限公司提供。本行没有义务向您发布任何进一步的刊物或更新本文件的内容,该等内容可随时变更而无需另行通知。该等内容仅表示作为一般信息用途的一般市场信息及/或评论,并不构成买卖投资产品的投资建议或推荐,亦不构成回报保证。本行没有参与有关信息及意见的准备。本行对本文件内的信息及/或意见之准确性及/或完整性不作任何担保、陈述或保证,亦不承担与此相关的任何责任,包括任何从相信为可靠但未进行独立验证的来源取得之第三方信息。任何情况下,本行或汇丰集团均不对任何与您使用本文件或依赖或使用或无法使用本文件内信息相关的任何损害、损失或法律责任承担任何责任,包括但不限于直接或间接、特殊、附带、相应而生的损害、损失或法律责任。

本行及汇丰集团及/或其高级职员、董事及员工或持有任何本文件内提及的证券或金融工具(或任何有关投资)(如有)持仓,并可能不时购入或出售任何该等证券或金融工具或投资。本行及其联属机构可能在本文件内讨论的证券或金融工具(或相关投资)(如有)担任做市商,或作出承销承诺,或可能以委托人身分将该等投资项目售予客户或从客户购入,亦可能为该等公司提供或寻求提供投资银行或承销服务,或提供或寻求提供与该等公司相关的投资银行或承销服务。

本文件内含的信息并未根据您的个人情况审阅。请注意,此信息并非用于协助作出法律、财务或其他咨询问题的决定,亦不应作为任何投资或其他决定的依据。您应根据您的投资经验、目标、财务来源及有关情况,仔细考虑任何投资观点及投资产品是否合适,自行作出投资决定。您应仔细阅读相关产品销售文件以了解详情。

本文件内部分陈述可能被视为前瞻性陈述,提供目前对未来事件的预期或预测。此等前瞻性陈述并非未来表现或事件的担保,且涉及风险和不确定因素。该等陈述不代表任何一项投资,且仅用作说明用途。客户须注意,不能保证本文件内描述的经济状况会在未来维持不变。实际结果可能因多种因素而与有关前瞻性陈述所描述的情况有重大差异。本行不保证该等前瞻性陈述内的期望将获证实或能够实现,谨此警告您不要过度依赖有关陈述。无论是基于新信息、未来事件或其他原因,本行均无义务更新本文件所载前瞻性陈述,亦无义务更新实际结果与前瞻性陈述预期不同的原因。

投资有风险。投资者须注意,投资的资本价值及其所得收益均可升可跌,甚至变得毫无价值,投资者可能无法取回最初投资的金额。本文件内列出的过往表现并非未来表现的可靠指标,不应依赖任何此内的预测、预期及模拟作为未来结果的指标。有关过往表现的资料可能过时。有关最新信息请联络您的客户经理。

于任何市场的投资均可能出现极大波动,并受多种因直接及间接因素造成不同幅度的突发波动影响。这些特征可导致涉及有关市场的人士蒙受巨大损失。若撤回投资或提前终止投资,或无法取回投资全额。除一般投资风险外,国际投资可能涉及因货币价值出现不利波动、公认会计原则之差别或特定司法管辖区经济或政治不稳而造成的资本损失风险。范围狭窄的投资及较小规模的公司一般具有较大波动性。不能保证交易表现向好。新兴市场的经济大幅取决于国际贸易,因此一直以来并可能继续会受到贸易壁垒、外汇管制、相对币值控制调整及其他与其贸易的国家实施或协商的保护主义措施的不利影响。有关经济亦一直并可能继续受与其贸易国家的经济情况的不利影响。投资计划受市场风险影响,您应仔细阅读所有计划相关文件。

版权所有 © 汇丰银行(中国)有限公司 2020。保留一切权利。未经汇丰银行(中国)有限公司事先书面许可,不得以任何形式或任何方式(无论是电子、机械、影印、摄录或其他方式)复制或传送本刊物任何部分或将其任何部分储存于检索系统内。

失效日. 2020年9月30日

相关资讯